

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

PUBLIC SERVICES BUILDING

2051 KAEN ROAD | OREGON CITY, OR 97045

TO: Clackamas County Board of Commissioners

FROM: Gary Schmidt, County Administrator **RE:** Library District Task Force Appointees

DATE: April 29, 2025

REQUEST: Consider the nominees for the Library District Task Force and appoint a Library District Board of Directors member.

BACKGROUND: On January 29, 2025, the Board approved the creation of a Library District Task Force and its structure and goals. The task force will make recommendations to the Board and will conclude its work in approximately six months.

Staff solicited interest from mayors, city managers, library directors, and members of library advisory committees to develop the recommended appointees below. Particular consideration was given to having members from different jurisdictions, including urban and rural representation. The full list of nominees is included at the end of this memo.

Seat	Representative			
Library District Director (BCC)	*To be determined			
Library District Administrator	Gary Schmidt (ClackCo)			
Urban Mayor	Michael Milch (Gladstone)			
Rural Mayor	Kathleen Walker (Sandy)			
Urban City Manager	John Williams (West Linn)			
Rural City Manager	Dan Huff (Molalla)			
Urban Library Director	Melissa Kelly (Lake Oswego)			
Rural Library Director	Marisa Ely (Canby)			
Public Member #1	Al Matecko (Happy Valley, LDAC)			
Public Member #2	Gay Walker (Unincorporated ClackCo, Wilsonville area)			
LINCC Manager (Ex Officio)	Rick Peterson (LINCC)			
Professional Facilitator	Shelly Parini			

RECOMMENDATION: Staff recommends the Board:

- Approve the task force nominees, and
- Appoint a Board member to serve on the task force.

Library District Task Force Representative Nominee Tracking Updated February 27, 2025

Seat		Nominees		
		Michael Milch		
Urban Mayor	Denyse McGriff (OC)	(Gladstone)		
		Kathleen Walker		
Rural Mayor	Brian Hodson (Canby)	(Sandy)		
Urban City Manager	Jenna Troha (Wilsonville)	Ben Bryant (HV)		
Rural City Manager	Dan Huff (Molalla)			
Urban Library Director	Melissa Kelly (LO)	Shasta Sasser (Wilsonville)	Sarah Roller (HV)	Greg Williams (OC)
Rural Library Director	Marisa Ely (Canby)	Sarah McIntyre (Sandy)		
Public Member (2 SEATS)	Al Matecko (HV)	Krystina Thomas (Milwaukie)	Gay Walker (Wilsonville unincorp.)	Grover Bornefeld (Oak Grove unit

Respectfully Submitted,

Gary Schmidt County Administrator