CLACKAMAS COUNTY TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION MINUTES

December 7, 2022

MISSION: To give the citizens of Clackamas County a forum to voice traffic safety concerns, evaluate related issues, provide a liaison with County agencies and promote traffic safety.

Present	Absent:
Chris Larsen	Nathan McCarty
Ronna Keeney	Rafael Kaup
Bob Karl	Michael Wilson
Andrew Labonte	
Laurie Hedwall (via zoom)	
William Farley	
Jeanette DeCastro	
James Waddington	
Staff Present	Guest
Christian Snuffin	Andrea Glasgow
Rob Sadowsky	Mason Sung (via Zoom)
	Mike Potter, Scouter Principal (via
	Zoom)
	Orlando Perez (via Zoom)
	Cindy Detchon, N. Clackamas School
	District (via Zoom)

COMMISION MEMBERS

APPROVAL OF LAST MEETING MINUTES

The minutes from October 5th, 2022 meeting were approved unanimously. Moved by Laurie and seconded by William.

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEMS: Laurie asked for an update on 97th discussed at a previous meeting. Lots of wrong way drivers, never painted this summer coming from Sunnyside near Kaiser. Christian will investigate the issue.

COMMUNITY CONCERNS: We had several guests to discuss traffic safety around Scouters Mountain Elementary School. Andrea Glasgow served as lead spokesperson. The group shared many concerns about the safety of children crossing 172nd and Coyote Way. The TSC discussed that the street is up for redesign as part of a new project managed by our development team. The main traffic speed limit is 45 mph while school is not in session. Strategies and responses discussed include examining the speed zone for lowering, building intentional efforts to integrate Scouters Mountain parents into the community engagement process for the larger project, and building a safe routes to school project with the school and the City of Happy Valley. Rob will connect the parents with the project manager, Jonathon Hangartner. The road is entirely inside the city boundary of Happy Valley, so any new project will need to involve the city and the Happy Valley Police Department. **2022 Trivia Contest**: Let the records show that this year's champion is Jeanette. She gets to gloat for an entire year.

Notes taken from recording by Rob Sadowsky.