Appointed Boards and Commissions (ABCs) Recommendation

The Leaders for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council, staffed by the Equity and Inclusion Office, currently has five openings on their commission due to term expirations. A total of nineteen members are allowed with three-year terms.

Recruitment opened to the public on June 01, 2023 and closed on August 31, 2023. Recruitment took place by press release on the county website. Through this recruitment process, six applications were received and six were recommended to be appointed. Two applicants are new and four applicants are currently on the board. Ernest Blackwell has been recommended for chair position and Dina Stults for vice chair position.

The recommendation is as follows:

Gabrielle Blaug	1 st Term	10/01/2026
Vanessa Huckaby	1 st Term	10/01/2026
Carlos Benson Martinez	2 nd Term	10/01/2026
Joselito Tanega	3 rd Term	10/01/2026
Ernest Blackwell	3 rd Term	10/01/2026
Dina Stults	3 rd Term	10/01/2026

The Board of County Commissioners could select other candidates or require further recruitment.

Please sign as appropriate indicating that a matrix and all applications are attached. The material has been reviewed by the appropriate signing authority, and the packet is ready for consideration by the BCC.

Liaison signature:	Maria Magallon	Date: 11/27/2023
	0	
Department approval:	Hary Smit	Date: 11/27/2023

	ABC Matrix 2023/2024 ACTIVE ROSTER							
Leaders fo	r Equity, Diversi	ty and Inclusion Counci	d Inclusion Council		Today's Date: December 2023			
First Name	Last Name	If this Position is currently a Vacancy (Member resigning, reappointed)	Term Overview (1st. 2nd)	Appointment Date (Day/Month/ Year)	Term expires (Day/Month/ Year			
Emily	Cooper	Active	2nd.	09/01/2021	09/01/2024			
Lori A.	Bender	Active	1st.	09/01/2021	09/01/2024			
Michael E.	Foley	Active	2nd	09/01/2021	09/01/2024			
Maria	Magallon	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A			
Rodney	Cook	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A			
New Members Ro	ecommended							
First Name	Last Name	Recommending applicant	Overview (1st, 2nd,etc)	Appointment Date	Term expires			
Gabrielle	Blaug	Yes	1st					
Vanessa	Huckaby	Yes	1st					
Carlos	Benson Martinez	Yes	2nd					
Dina	Stults	Yes, Vice-chair	2nd					
Ernest A.	Blackwell	Yes, Chair	3rd					
Joselito	Tanega	Yes	3rd					