OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

SHEMIA FAGAN SECRETARY OF STATE CHERYL MYERS DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE



**ELECTIONS DIVISION** 

BRENDA BAYES

255 CAPITOL STREET NE, SUITE 501 SALEM, OREGON 97310-0722

(503) 986-1518

January 27, 2021

Sent via email to: Clackamas County Board of Commissioners Marion County Board of Commissioners

Re: Vacancy in State Senate District 20

Effective January 11, 2021, there is a vacancy in State Senate District 20 due to the resignation of Senator Alan Olsen.

Pursuant to ORS 171.060(1) and OAR 165-010-0060, you are hereby notified of the vacancy. The Republican Party precinct committeepersons of State Senate District 20 met and chose nominees to fill the vacancy. The nominees chosen are:

- 1. Bill Kennemer
- 2. John J. Lee Jr.
- 3. Stephen L. Bates

The Appointing Authority must meet to appoint one person from the list of nominees. The vacancy must be filled **no later than February 9, 2021,** 30 days after the vacancy occurred. Clackamas County Commissioner, Tootie Smith has been asked to chair the joint meeting.

The time and location of the meeting are as follows:

Date:February 1, 2021Time:2:00 pm to 5:00 pmLocation:Virtually via Zoom – links to follow

In accordance with ORS 171.062 when a vacancy occurs in a legislative district encompassing two or more counties, each county is entitled to one vote for each 1,000 of its electors or major fraction of 1,000 (more than 500 registered electors, but less than 1,000) residing within the district at the time the vacancy occurred. Based on the number of registered electors on January 11, 2021, each county commissioner is allotted the following number of votes:

County	Number of Registered Electors	Votes per County	Number of Commissioners	Votes per Commissioner
Clackamas	105,426	105	5	21
Marion	63	1	3	.33

These votes are apportioned to each county commissioner. If for any reason a county commissioner is unable to attend the meeting on February 1, 2021 either in person or electronically, that county commissioner's vote would not be cast. The votes are not reapportioned for the remaining county commissioners to cast.

Enclosed is a copy of OAR 165-010-0060 outlining the procedures to conduct a meeting to fill a vacancy in the Legislative Assembly. Also enclosed is a Statement for use in notifying the Secretary of State of the appointment including signature and vote tabulation sheets. Please complete and return the completed Statement and Signature and Tabulation sheet immediately after the meeting. You can email it to <u>elections.sos@oregon.gov</u>.

Please contact me at (503) 986-1518 if you have any questions about this process.

Sincerely,

ydo-Paukels

Lydia Plukchi Compliance Specialist

Attachments

c: Sherry Hall, Clackamas County Clerk Tootie Smith, Clackamas County Commissioner Chair Sonya Fischer, Clackamas County Commissioner Paul Savas, Clackamas County Commissioner Martha Schrader, Clackamas County Commissioner Mark Shull, Clackamas County Commissioner Kevin Cameron, Marion County Commissioner Sam Brentano, Marion County Commissioner Colm Willis, Marion County Commissioner Jan Fritz, Marion County Chief Administrative Officer Bill Burgess, Marion County Clerk Tracy Honl, Oregon Republican Party Vice Chair Chris Barreto, Oregon Republican National Committeewoman