

## DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT

**DEVELOPMENT SERVICES BUILDING** 

150 Beavercreek Road Oregon City, OR 97045

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Board of County Commissioners

Gary Schmidt, County Administrator

FROM: Dan Johnson, Director

DATE: June 1, 2021

RE: Climate Action Plan Project Community Advisory Task Force (CATF)

At the April 20, 2021 Issues session, the Board of Commissioners reviewed and approved 20 recommended members for the CATF, and directed staff to return with recommended members for the final four seats. The memo from the April 20 Issues session is included as Attachment A. The four unassigned seats were a representative from the Youth Advisory Task Force (YATF), one from a rural city and an urban city identified by the Clackamas County Coordinating Committee (C4), and an expert in transportation technology.

Staff worked with the YATF and C4 to identify representatives for those groups, and reached out to experts in transportation technology. We recommend the following applicants as members of the CATF filling the four remaining seats.

Name	Experience or Organization	Geographic Representation
Cassie Wilson (Max Wright as alternate)		Boring
Zach Henkin		Unincorporated Clackamas County
Katy Dunsmuir		Rural Cities
Valerie Pratt		Urban Cities

## Attachment A.

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Board of County Commissioners

Gary Schmidt, County Administrator

FROM: Dan Johnson, Director

DATE: April 20, 2021

RE: Climate Action Plan Project Community Advisory Task Force (CATF)

The Board of Commissioners has set two key goals around the issue of climate action:

- 1. Clackamas County will be carbon neutral (eliminate our net contribution of greenhouse gas pollutants) by 2050.
- 2. Clackamas County will adopt a climate action plan by 2023 with specific recommendations for how to reach the goal of becoming carbon neutral.

The climate action plan project, initiated in 2020, is designed to lay out a framework for how the county can achieve these climate goals. The framework is being created by identifying the climate-related challenges and opportunities in our county, and developing a plan that aligns with and supports the five primary county strategic goals of vibrant economy; strong infrastructure; safe, healthy, and secure communities; natural resources; and good government.

The project's scope of work, previously reviewed by the Board, includes eight criteria for success. Among these are a plan that is meaningful, data-driven, transparent and accountable, and equitable. Constructive engagement with community members and subject matter experts is being designed to help meet these criteria. The success of the plan hinges on the diversity of voices engaged in creating it, which calls for an extensive and inclusive public and stakeholder engagement process.

At the center of the project is an active and involved Community Advisory Task Force (CATF), which was a clear desire of the Board in scoping this project. Task force members will be asked to help shape the climate action plan by sharing their expertise and experience; receiving and evaluating input from the public, stakeholders and experts, and learning from and analyzing data and modeling information from our expert consultants. CATF tasks will include working with the project team on a Community Engagement Plan (CEP), which staff will share with the Board for review and feedback once the plan is complete.

During fall 2020, the staff project team talked about this important group with our consultants, the County's Climate Exchange group (staff from departments throughout the County) and the County's Climate Action Plan Implementation Team (directors from several County departments), and concluded that the representation and expertise needed for this task force includes people who:

- Represent various geographic areas of the county (including urban and rural),
- Have the time to commit to the project (several hours a month for several months),
- Have a familiarity with and/or interest in the issue of climate action,
- Have expertise in different areas and/or are connected to communities that are particularly impacted by climate change or climate action, and

• Are able to work with new information and to offer different and balanced perspectives.

Applications for the CATF were accepted via SurveyMonkey from Dec. 9, 2020 - Jan. 11, 2021, with applications from some targeted partners received between January and March 2021. We publicized the opportunity to apply through emails to interested parties, social media, notification to staff, outreach to key stakeholders, via ClackCo Monthly (emailed to nearly 13,000 people) and through contacts with business and community groups.

We were very pleased to receive 67 applications from people with many different backgrounds and interests from throughout the county. That gave us the challenge and the opportunity to identify the best combination of applicants to serve on the CATF.

We believe the recommended 24 members provide the depth of knowledge, commitment, energy, and diversity of geographic and lived experience needed to help make this project a success.

Name	Experience or Organization	Geographic Representation
Ray Atkinson		Countywide
Bill Avison		Molalla
Linda Blue		Countywide
David Bugni		Eagle Creek
Nina Carlson		Countywide
Laura Edmonds		North Clackamas
Bronwyn Horn		Milwaukie/Mulino
Dan Houf		Happy Valley/ Govt Camp
Lisa Kilders		Countywide
Julia Person		Milwaukie
Adam Rack		Milwaukie /South Molalla
Jeff Rubin		Wilsonville
Jairaj Singh		Countywide
William Street		Oak Grove
Kim Swan		Clackamas River
Meg Turner		Sandy
Eric Underwood		Countywide
Edgar Wales		Canby
Matt Zacher		Canby
Richa Poudyal		Countywide
Youth Task Force Liaison		TBD

Transportation tech subject matter expert	TBD
Rural city official (ex officio)*	Rural Cities
Urban city official (ex officio)*	Urban Cities

<sup>\*</sup>Given the direction of the Board to involve cities, we propose one rural and one urban city representative as ex-officio members (non-voting) to maintain an ongoing connection with C4 and the city subcommittee. Two city councilors applied to join the Task Force—these applications will be referred to C4.