

Emergency Preparedness Council June 14th, 2022 Via Zoom

1:30pm-3:30pm (PST)

Facilitator:	Daniel Nibouar and Jeff Rubin	
Note Taker:	Aryka Hanto	

Attendance:

Р	Kimberlee Ables	Α	Bradley O'Neil	Р	Commissioner Mark Schull	S-A	Jay Wilson
Р	Allison Cloo	Р	Brent Parries	Α	Chair Tootie Smith		
Р	Gary Hunter	Р	Teresa Robertson	S-P	Molly Caggiano		
Р	Malia Kupillas	Р	Jeffrey Rubin	S-A	Brenna Cruz		
Α	Tracey Lambert	P	Leah Sundquist	S-P	Kimberly Dinwiddie		
Α	Bruce Lloyd	Р	Jim Walker	S-P	Aryka Hanto		
Р	John McLain	Р	Cassie Wilson	S-P	Daniel Nibouar		
Р	William Messner	Р	Commissioner Sonya Fischer	S-A	Emily Murkland		
Р	Richard Nepon	Р	Commissioner Paul Savas	S-P	Jamie Poole		
Р	Terrence Niedermeyer	Α	Commissioner Martha Schrader	S-P	Lauren Underwood		

P-Present A-Absent S-Staff V-Visitor

Items/Issues Discussion		Follow-Up		
Meeting called to Daniel Nibouar called the meeting to order at 1:30pm				
order				
Welcome and	The Council was led in introducing the members and county			
Introduction	staff.			
Council Bylaws	 Edits to the bylaws: Add a Public Works representative as an ex-officio member Richard Nepon made a motion to add a Public Works representative as an ex-officio member 	Bylaws will be edited to include approved changes.		



- Terrence Niedermeyer seconded the motion
- All in favor, none opposed, none abstained. Motion passes.
- Split the Healthcare representative into two positions:
 Healthcare and Public Health
 - Discussed that Public Health representative would be someone working in a government Public Health related role whereas the Healthcare representative would be someone who works directly in healthcare
 - Discussed that there was difficulty in filling the Healthcare role to begin with due to COVID and that the person who was originally in the role has stepped down from the role.
 - Chair decided to hold off on moving forward with this until we can get the Healthcare role filled.
- Clarification of role of Secretary
 - Staff will take meeting minutes
 - Secretary will edit and distribute meeting minutes and materials.
- Election of Officers
 - Vice Chair will become Chair at the end of the Chair's term.
 - Future elections will be for Vice Chair and Secretary
- Jeff Rubin motioned to approve the bylaws with edits
 - John McLain seconded



	Ţ	DIGAGIEN MANAGEMENT
	 All in favor, none opposed, none abstained. Motion passes. 	
Council Officer Elections	 Polls were provided to collect council member votes for Chair and Vice Chair. Jeff Rubin elected Chair Kimberlee Ables elected Vice Chair John McLain moved to vote in Gary Hunter as Secretary Richard Nepon seconded All in favor, none opposed, none abstained. 	
	Motion passes.	
Approve Meeting Minutes	 Brent Parries moves to approve previous meeting's minutes Teresa Robertson seconded All in favor, none opposed, Cassie Wilson abstained due to not having been present at prior meeting. Motion passes. 	
Confirm Future EPC Meeting Schedule	 Council members were provided a survey prior to the meeting to capture scheduling preferences Meetings will be held the 3rd Monday of September, December, March, and June from 3:30pm-5:30pm. Meetings may be hybrid, taking place both virtually and in person 	
Review Five Selected Areas of Interest for	 Council members discussed and decided on the first three areas of interest at the prior meeting: 	
Subcommittee	 Communication Community Preparedness Logistics 	



		DISASTER MANAGEMENT
	 Council members were provided a survey prior to the meeting to capture interest in the final two areas of interest: 	
	o Recovery	
Determine Council	Communication	
Membership for Each	 Commissioner Smith 	
Subcommittee	 Kimberlee Ables 	
	 Allison Cloo 	
	 Malia Kupillas 	
	 Bill Messner 	
	 Richard Nepon 	
	Terrence Niedermeyer	
	o Brad O'Neil	
	Community Preparedness	
	Commissioner Schull	
	 Allison Cloo 	
	 Malia Kupillas 	
	Richard Nepon	
	 Brent Parries 	
	 Teresa Robertson 	
	 Cassie Wilson 	
	• Logistics	
	Commissioner Savas	
	○ Jeff Rubin	
	 Cassie Wilson 	
	 Leah Sundquist 	
	 Richard Nepon 	
	Resources	
	Commissioner Fischer	
	Commissioner risener	



	,	DISASTER MANAGEMENT
	 Gary Hunter Tracey Lambert Dana Lord Jim Walker John McLain Recovery Commissioner Schrader Gary Hunter John McLain Bill Messner Jeff Rubin 	DISASTER MANAGEMENT
Chair Selects Chairperson for Each Subcommittee	 Communication- Kimberlee Ables Community Preparedness- Richard Nepon Logistics- Leah Sundquist Resources- To be determined Recovery- To be determined Subcommittees were asked to meet at least once before the next Emergency Preparedness Council meeting. 	 Committee Chair requested that at Resources' and Recovery's first meetings they decide on who their chairperson will be. Council members will be sent a list of member contact information to coordinate scheduling of subcommittee meetings.
Public Alerts and Outreach Discussion	 Jamie Poole presented information on public alerts Council was asked to think about ways to reach community members to get them signed up for public alerts Brent Parries would like this information to get out to the CPOs and Hamlets so they can get the information to their members. Allison Cloo suggested libraries. 	



Summary and Next
Steps

- Finalized and approved bylaws
- Elected Council Officers
- Identified subcommittee membership
- Identified Emergency Preparedness Council meeting dates and times
- Meeting closed at 3:21pm

- Subcommittees to meet at least once before next Emergency Preparedness Council meeting
- Council members who may have prospective meeting locations to offer were directed to email those locations to Molly Caggiano and Daniel Nibouar
- County staff will send an email with a list of the next council meetings as well as calendar invitations.