OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

> BEV CLARNO SECRETARY OF STATE

A. RICHARD VIAL DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE

ELECTIONS DIVISION

STEPHEN N. TROUT

255 CAPITOL STREET NE, SUITE 501 SALEM, OREGON 97310-0722 (503) 986-1518

December 3, 2019

Re: Vacancy in Senate District 30

Effective January 2, 2020, there is a vacancy in Senate District 30 due to the resignation of Senator Cliff Bentz. The letter of resignation was received in our office on November 26, 2019.

Pursuant to ORS 171.060(1), you are hereby notified of the vacancy. The party is required to nominate no fewer than three and not more than five qualified persons to fill the vacancy. The nominating convention shall be scheduled and conducted according to party rules. ORS 236.325(3) states that the appointing authority **may** begin the process to fill the vacancy and **may** select a successor prior to January 2, 2020.

ORS 171.051(2) requires each nominee to be a citizen qualified to hold the office, an elector of Senate District 30 and a member of the Republican Party for 180 days prior to the date of the vacancy. In addition, Article IV, section 3 of the Oregon Constitution requires that the appointee shall have been an inhabitant of the district for at least one year prior to the date of the appointment. It is the responsibility of the Republican Party to ensure that all nominees meet these qualifications before the submission of the "Willingness to Serve" statements to the Secretary of State.

You may begin the process now and are required to notify the Secretary of State of the persons nominated not later than January 22, 2020.

The notification to the Secretary of State shall be accompanied by a signed written statement of each nominee's willingness to serve in the vacated office. I have included the required form (SEL 145).

Once the three to five nominees are chosen, the Baker, Clackamas, Deschutes, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Lake, Malheur, Marion, Wasco and Wheeler County Board of Commissioners must meet to select one person. Though your decision may be made earlier, the vacancy must be filled by appointment **not sooner than January 2, 2020 and not later than February 3, 2020**.

Pursuant to ORS 171.060(1), the Secretary of State shall set a time and place for the meeting, and name a chair. When naming a chair for this purpose the Secretary will 1) select a Commissioner or Judge of the same political party as the party of the nominees. If there are no commissioners who are registered as members of that party, the Secretary will 2) select a Commissioner or Judge that is registered to vote as not affiliated with a party. If there are no commissioners that meet criteria 1 or 2, the Secretary will select 3) the Chair of the Board of Commissioners or County Court of the county that has the most registered voters in the district of the vacancy.

In accordance with ORS 171.062 and 171.064 when a vacancy occurs in a legislative district encompassing two or more counties, each county is entitled to one vote for each 1,000 of its electors or major fraction of 1,000 (more than 500 registered electors, but less than 1,000) residing within the district at the time the vacancy occurred. Based on the number of registered electors on December 3, 2019, each county commissioner is allotted the following number of votes:

County	Number of Registered Electors	Votes per County	Number of Commissioners	Votes per Commissioner
Baker	11,968	12	3	4.00
Deschutes	16,930	17	3	5.67
Grant	5,303	5	3	1.67
Harney	5,258	5	3	1.67
Jefferson	15,457	15	3	5.00
Lake	457	1	3	0.33
Malheur	16,096	16	3	5.33
Wasco	15,978	16	3	5.33
Wheeler	1,052	1	3	0.33
Clackamas	-	0	5	0.00
Marion	-	0	3	0.00

If further information is needed, please contact me at (503) 986-1518. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Pupels Lydia Plukchi

Compliance Specialist