Clackamas County Coordinating Committee (C4) Minutes

Thursday, Dec. 4, 2014

Development Service Building 150 Beavercreek Road – Auditorium

Attendance

Members: Clackamas County: Paul Savas (Co-chair); Canby: Brian Hodson; Traci Hensley (Alt.); CPOs: Laurie Freeman Swanson; Marjorie Stewart (Alt.); Fire Districts: NA; Hamlets:Rick Cook (Alt.); Happy Valley: Markely Drake (Co-chair Alt.); Lake Oswego: Donna Jordan; Jeff Gudman (Alt.); Molalla: Glen Boreth; MPAC Citizen Rep: NA; Oregon City: Betty Mumm; Sandy: Jeremy Pietzold; Sanitary District: Terry Gibson;Transit Agencies: Julie Stephens (Rural); Steve Kautz; Villages: Bob Reeves; Water Districts: High Kalani;

Wilsonville: Tim Knapp

Staff: Gary Schmidt (PGA); Trent Wilson (PGA); Karen Buehrig (DTD)

Guests: Mark Ottenad (Wilsonville); Jaimie Lorenzini (Happy Valley); Warren Jones (Mulino); Kelly Brooks (ODOT); Dennis Mitchell (ODOT); Dan Holladay (Oregon City); Diana Helm (Damascus); Craig Dirksen (Metro Council); Laura Edmonds (N. Clackamas Chamber); Annette Mattson (PGE); Mark Gamba (Milwaukie); Jay Minor (Stafford Hamlet); Stephan Lashbrook (SMART); Julie Wehling (Canby Area Transit – CAT)

MINUTES

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Welcome & Introductions

Meeting called to order and chaired by Co-chairs Paul Savas and Markely Drake (Co-chair Alt.). Self introductions made. 14 of 23 voting members present. Quorum established.

3. Housekeeping

Approval of November 2014 C4 Meeting Minutes

Minutes from November 2014 C4 meeting approved without change.

Reminder of January 1st C4 Meeting Cancelation (Next Meeting Feb. 5, 2015)

MPAC Appointment: Clackamas County Outside of the Urban Growth Boundary

Gary Schmidt shared details of role: non voting member of MPAC. Encouraged Rural Cities to meet and discuss and share appointment if they wish to fill the seat.

4. ODOT Presentation: RealTime ITS (Guest Kelly Brooks and Dennis Mitchell from ODOT)

Kelly Brooks explained Tiger Grant and introduced Dennis Mitchell.

Dennis Mitchell showed video of ITS system for Portland Metro region and presented a PowerPoint of the ITS benefits and expectations. PDF of PowerPoint slides available upon request.

5. Climate Smart Communities (CSC) Update

Karen Buehrig detailed the November Joint JPACT/MPAC meeting. Result was the update of the "toolbox". KB explained that the result of CSC will be "volunteer actions" that communities and municipalities can choose to utilize for their area within the region, but that the goals set by CSC are regional goals.

Commissioner Savas explained that Clackamas County's position was to seek balance in the resulting CSC proposal, noting that the region is made up of different areas, and balance would be needed for each area to find value in the CRC proposal.

Mayor Knapp confirmed Savas's statement, and noted Washington County was seeking similar "balance". Urged that Clackamas County pursue a positive approach with Metro and avoid being seen as "recalicatrant".

6. ACT Update

BCC agreed to move forward with the recommendation seen after November meeting. Clackamas

County (CC) position still seeking a "consensus" decision model, but the current proposal is an 18 member vote (60%) with Majorty/Minority Decision Reports. CC feels like 18 members still does not achieve the goal of reaching

consensus. Consensus model based upon other ACTs, many of which work on concensus models. Commissioner Savas shared that ODOT has never dealt with an ACT that could not reach consensus.

Dan Holladay asked about the BCC process for choosing the CC "business representative" for ACT. Commissioner Savas detailed the role of the Economic Development Commission (EDC) and their expertise with businesses in the County. Mayor Knapp responded by noting the EDC's lack of awareness and familiarity with regional transportation needs. Donna Jordan observed that the language is left open enough where the BCC could still use C4 to make the recommendation. Don Holladay concluded by noting that the BCC appoints members of the EDC, and is therefore appointing this seat in the ACT.

Karen Buehrig continued the ACT "business representative" conversation by noting the BCC is only receiving the "nomination" from the EDC. Commissioner Savas said the BCC could also receive a nomination from C4.

Brain Hodson noted that Commissioner Savas appears to have a good handle on C4's frustrations regarding the BCC approach to receiving feedback from C4.

Mark Gamba asked who selects the final three members of the ACT. Kelly Brooks explained: RuralTransit Provider seat will be chosen through a caucus, and the Freight and Active Transportation seats will have an application process.

Julie Stephens said she heard the Rural Transit could still change to Small Transit, but that removes another rural element, noting that Wilsonville has a "small transit" program that is not rural and does not address rural transit needs.

Karen Buehrig explained next steps for ACT. **December 18, 2014**: ODOT meeting on to review ACT proposal with OTC – Task Force invited to meet with OTC, as well. **January 15, 2015**: OTC reviews draft proposal and the public comments. **January 2015**: Public sector representatives of the task force will approve final proposal. **Februray 19, 2015**: OTC provides provisional charter to ODOT. **February 2015**: If the ACT receives a provisional charter, public body appointments and stakeholder nominations occur. **March 2015**: Public sector members of ACT appoint stakeholder members and review draft bylaws. **April 2015**: Full ACT inaugural meeting to approve bylaws, elect officers, and conduct orientation.

7. 2015 Legislative Session Priorities

Gary Schmidt detailed the BCC's 2 Transportation Priorities. Sunrise Phase II will be the County's primary focus, while the 2-lane I205 stretch will be communicated as a region wide priority. There will be no Land Use ask by the BCC in 2015.

Trent Wilson recapped the election results affecting Clackamas County. Regarding the Happy Valley Sheriff Levy, Markley Drake commented that Happy Valley will begin a information campaign and go back out in May.

8. JPACT/MPAC Update

None.

9. Farewells

Commissioner Savas noted the leaving of several C4 members and thanked them for their service and contributions: Mayor Doug Neely, Betty Mumm, Jody Carson, Donna Jordan, and Dave Hedges.

Trent Wilson explained the Exit Interview.

10. Pressing Updates

None.

11. Adjourn